Brownell Library, Essex Junction, VT Quick Links
Library Catalog
Using the Web

Using the Library
Online Resources
Adult Services
Youth Services
About Us
Good Reads Award Winning Books


The Edgar Awards are given annually by the Mystery Writers of America annually in recognition of distinguished works in the genre. Specific titles are nominated for categories such as best novel, best short story, and more.

Science Fiction and Fantasy

The Nebula Awards pay tribute to important new science fiction and fantasy works. Awards are presented annually by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America.

Literary Fiction and Non-Fiction

The National Book Award honors prominent new titles of fiction, non-fiction, and poetry. The awards have been given annually since 1950 by the National Book Foundation.

The National Book Critics Award from the National Book Critics Circle recognizes exceptional works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, biography, and criticism written in English.

The Pulitzer Prizes are given each year to American writers and journalists for notable works in many categories including fiction, general non-fiction, history, biography, and poetry.

The Pen/Faulkner Award, established by William Faulkner, recognizes distinguished works of fiction by American authors.